BAFRA BAFRA Newsflash
Home  About Us   Join BAFRA   Contact Us 
home > Newsflash Index > Newsflash 34/06

ISSUE 34/06 28 August 2006

DISCIPLINARY CASES

NAME # TEAM CODE Q OFFENCE SUSPENDED
  27 August
Ryan LEWIS 41 South Wales Warriors FGT 2 Repeatedly punched an opponent lying prone on the floor who did not retaliate. tba

GAME MANAGEMENT REPORTS

HOME TEAM REPORT NEXT HOME GAME
  27 August
South Wales Warriors Arrived at Bedwas RFC to find the pitch 80-yards long. Spartans lodged a complaint as pitch too short by rule. After checking with Brian Yates and the teams checked with BAFL it was agreed to play the game and that the league would decide post-game if by rule the Warriors would forfeit. tba

NOMINATIONS FOR DIRECTORS

Please note that the closing date for receipt of nominations is 31st August (Thursday). Anyone intending to nominate or be nominated should do so NOW.

Tzvi Lindeman
returning@bafra.org

YOUTH BOWL CREW

Congratulations to this year's Youth Bowl crew:

Referee:Keith Wickham
Umpire:Keith Alldritt
Linesman:Chris sowerby
Linejudge:Graham Cloeman
Backjudge:Martin Cockerill

This will be held at Dewsbury Rams stadium on 3rd September.

On behalf of the selection committee
Pete Thom
operations@bafra.org

WORLD FLAG CHAMPIONSHIPS

Thought everyone would like to know that at the World Schools Flag Championships the referees and coaches were asked to vote for the 'best official'. The vote was won by Martin Cockerill (known affectionately as 'Curly Sue') and he received a magnificent, if not over large, trophy.

Martin and Phil were chosen to officiate in the final.

A longer account will follow for next week's Newsflash and an even longer report for Flag Down.

Phil Cottier #141

FREE KICK OUT OF BOUNDS

Play: Team A scores a two-point try. After the play, B1 and B2 are flagged for separate unsportsmanlike conduct. As a result, the ensuing free kick is from Team Bís 35-yard line. The free kick goes out of bounds untouched at Team Bís 12-yard line.
Does team B retain the option to take the ball 30 yards from the kick-off spot?

Ruling: Yes. The fact that the free-kick line was moved by penalty does not affect the rule regarding a kick out of bounds (6-2-1 Pen).

Reprinted with written permission from Referee magazine.
For subscription information contact Referee magazine, PO Box 161, Franksville, Wis. 53216; phone 262/632-8855; e-mail: referee@referee.com.


NewsFlash