BAFRA Newsflash

Issue: 42/14

23rd October 2014


 We have assigned officials to games for Week 1 & 2 of the season.  However all officials should be aware of some changes for this season with regards to the following teams.


New Venue

The following teams are now playing at new venues:



Oxford  (shared venue with OBU)


New Teams

The following teams are new to the BUCS league:

Chichester Spitfires

FXU Tridents (Falmouth)


New Name

Leeds Beckett is the new name for the team formerly called Leeds Carnegie


All this information has been uploaded onto Arbiter. In addition all teams contacting us are asked to complete the Fixture Notification Form that is in the Team Pack 2014 area of our website.

We have updated all new contact information that we receive. So if you see 2014 alongside the contact for a team (in Arbiter) you will know it is current.

All team information is contained in the Site section on Arbiter

Richard Vernon


Production of the 2015 edition of the IFAF rulebook has started. NCAA/IFAF changes are being incorporated and need to be checked. If you would be willing to proof read some sections, please let me know.

At this stage we are not planning to print a BAFA rulebook for 2015 - it is expected that the changes will be distributed as a list of amendments, supported by a PDF version of the book.
Jim Briggs


If officials who try to make themselves unavailable on Arbiter see that they have a game pending, then it is most important to notify immediately.

If you just Block Out the date, we have no way of knowing, and you will still be assigned the game. Your action will not delete your assignment from the pending game.

Despite numerous requests not to do so a few officials are still continuing to do this and it means that crews will need to be re-assigned.

Richard Vernon


Thank you to all who have renewed. I have also updated the list with the automatic renewals. As at 2:00pm on Wednesday 22nd October 2014 we have had 104 members register for 2015. They are:

Stuart Alger, Dave Allan, Mark Allen, James Arthur, Robert Banks, Kyle Barker, Andrew Binns, Bill Bowsher, Christopher Brice, Mark Bridgham, Jim Briggs, Jed Brookes-Lewis, Roger Brown, John Burns, Mark Burrows, Mike Cavanagh, Graham Coleman, Ian Davies, Stephen Egan, Ziad Ewais, Mike Fenton, Greg Freeman, Barry Gent, Martin Gibson, Muz Gibson, Roger Goodgroves, Ray Grace, John Graveling, Sam Gretton, John Griffin, Ben Griffiths, Gerry Grunska, Paul Haddad, David Hewitt, Rob Hill, Heather Horner, Jon Ikins, Barbara Jacquin, Anton Jarbol, Chris Jarvis, Lee Johnson, James Kilbane, Fletcher Kinnie, David Knight, Bruce Leatherman, Mike LeFevre, Steve Leonard, Tzvi Lindeman, Simon Love, Richard Madge, Alex Maynard, Frank McParlin, Jason Mead, Clyde Messenger, Adrian Miller, Lee Mills, Richard Moger, Darryl Morton, Bryan Mullally, Andrew Murrell, CK Nam, Russell Newton, Dave Norton, Tim Ockendon, Francis Oldfield, Davie Parsons, Pete Parsons, Euan Paterson, Colin Payne, Austin Pickles, Richard Prattley, Michael Prentice, Stephen Quick, Larry Rigby, Tony Rivers, John Roberts, Richard Samples, Ester Sandiford, Clive Sandle, Nobby Scott, Ian Sneddon, Kevin Stanton, Darran Sterling, Keith Stevens, Paul Sutton, Stuart Tabberer, Lee Taylor, Susannah Taylor, Pete Thom, Steve Tonkinson, Richard Vernon, Harald von Sydow, Ian Wainwright, Sean Welsh, Richard Whitby, Rose Wilford, Alan Wilson, Mark Wilson, Dean Wright, Lee Wood, Brian Yates, Adam Yendell, Charles Young, Stuart Young.

If your name is not on the above list and you believe that I should have received your renewal by that time, please contact me. I acknowledge all renewals when received.

There have been one or two instances of e-mails getting lost in the ether. If you have not received renewal forms, let me know and I will re-send; if that fails, I will post them to you.

Finally, a number of people are making their renewal payment either electronically or by some other arrangement with the Director of Finance. May I remind those people that I also need the renewal form sent to me (either electronically or by post) so that we can finalise the renewal. If anyone has any queries, please do not hesitate to contact me.

Paul Sutton









New this week – none

Previous weeks – none to be served this season





New this week - none

Outstanding items from previous weeks – none


This issue of Newsflash was edited by Alan Dobson. Dean will return next week.


New this week

No new play this week

Last week

Play: A's ball, 4th and 4, on A's 45. A's punt rolls to B's 10 where A21 tries to recover, but muffs the ball and it rolls to

B's 12. B19 picks up the ball on B's 12 and runs to B's 40 where he fumbles. A20 recovers the ball on B's 35 and runs for

a touchdown. During B19's run, B35 held A23 on B's 30.



New this week

No new play this week

Last week

Play: 1st and goal at the B2, team A run a quarterback sneak. The umpire sees the ball-carrier clearly break

the plane of the goal line before falling down, however both wing officials' views are obscured by other players.

How should the umpire communicate that a touchdown has been scored?




Contact for details


October 26th (Sun)

NFL @ Wembley (Detroit v Atlanta)

November 1st (Sat)

Xplosion 2014 – Birmingham v Hertfordshire

November 9th (Sun)

NFL @ Wembley (Dallas v Jacksonville)

November 15th (Sat)

BAFRA Board Meeting

March 28th & 29th

BAFRA Annual Convention

BAFRA Directors


David Parsons

General Secretary

Paul Sutton


Andrew Lovell


Richard Vernon


James Meredith


Pete Thom

Director without Portfolio #1

Martin Cockerill

Director without Portfolio #2

Steve Tonkinson

The opinions expressed in this Newsflash are those of the contributors, and not necessarily of BAFRA or its Directors.

All Incident Reports to be submitted via

Deadline for articles submitted by email ( is midnight Tuesday.

Editor: Dean Wright - Email: