BAFRA Newsflash

Issue: 43/14

30th October 2014


Regrettably, there is yet again a fault with the e-mails. Members wishing to contact a director should use their personal e-mail, which is available in the member’s area of the website. Colin Willox, webmaster, is in contact with the ISP to resolve this as soon as possible.

Apologies for any inconvenience.

Paul Sutton

General Secretary


We have assigned officials to games for Week 1 & 2 of the season.  However all officials should be aware of some changes for this season with regards to the following teams.

New Venue

The following teams are now playing at new venues:



Oxford (shared venue with OBU)

New Teams

The following teams are new to the BUCS league:

Chichester Spitfires

FXU Tridents (Falmouth)

New Name

Leeds Beckett is the new name for the team formerly called Leeds Carnegie

All this information has been uploaded onto Arbiter. In addition all teams contacting us are asked to complete the Fixture Notification Form that is in the Team Pack 2014 area of our website.

We have updated all new contact information that we receive. So if you see 2014 alongside the contact for a team (in Arbiter) you will know it is current.

All team information is contained in the Site section on Arbiter.

Richard Vernon

Director of Operations


All teams this week should be deemed to be pre-paid. If they say they have arranged things, please assume they have, as we are awaiting details of payments into the bank. I will issue a new updated list next week, to allow teams to pay into bank.

Charles Dean-Young

BAFRA Finance Team


If officials who try to make themselves unavailable on Arbiter see that they have a game pending, then it is most important to notify the Operations team immediately.

If you just Block Out the date, we have no way of knowing, and you will still be assigned the game. Your action will not delete your assignment from the pending game.

Despite numerous requests not to do so, a few officials are still continuing to do this, and it means that crews will need to be re-assigned.

Richard Vernon

Director of Operations


Thank you to all who have renewed. I have also updated the list with the automatic renewals. As at 9:00pm on Wednesday 29th October 2014 we have had 140 members register for 2015. They are:

Stuart Alger, Dave Allan, Mark Allen, James Arthur, Robert Banks, Kyle Barker, Jaeson Bennett, Francis Bevan, Andrew Binns, Bill Bowsher, Ellis Bowyer, Christopher Brice, Mark Bridgham, Jim Briggs, Jed Brookes-Lewis, Amir Brooks, Roger Brown, John Burns, Mark Burrows, Simone Casadei Bernardi, Derek Burridge, Mike Cavanagh, Alan Christopher, Phil Clarke, David Cochrane, Martin Cockerill, Graham Coleman, Ian Coleman, Toby Coleman, Ian Davies, Alex De Val, Stephen Egan, Ed Elliott, Ziad Ewais, Mike Fenton, Tim Fisher, Greg Freeman, Gordon Galloway, Barry Gent, Martin Gibson, Muz Gibson, Kenny Glover, Roger Goodgroves, Ray Grace, John Graveling, Sam Gretton, John Griffin, Ben Griffiths, Gerry Grunska, Paul Haddad, Graham Hedges, David Hewitt, Rob Hill, Heather Horner, Jon Ikins, Barbara Jacquin, Anton Jarbol, Chris Jarvis, Lee Johnson, Pete Johnson, Damian Jurzyk, James Kilbane, Fletcher Kinnie, David Knight, Doris Kustanci, Albert Lambert Jnr., Bruce Leatherman, Mike LeFevre, Steve Leonard, Tzvi Lindeman, Simon Love, Richard Madge, Alex Maynard, Frank McParlin, Jason Mead, Clyde Messenger, Adrian Miller, Lee Mills, Richard Moger, Darryl Morton, Bryan Mullally, Andrew Murrell, CK Nam, Russell Newton, Mark Niven, Dave Norton, Tim Ockendon, Peter Ogden, Francis Oldfield, Ian Papworth, Davie Parsons, Pete Parsons, Euan Paterson, Colin Payne, Austin Pickles, Richard Prattley, Michael Prentice, Stephen Quick, Larry Rigby, Tony Rivers, John Roberts, Peter Roberts, Rob Rooksby, Simon Ryan, Richard Samples, Ester Sandiford, Clive Sandle, Nobby Scott, Matthew Scutcher, Ian Sneddon, Shawn Sombati, Kevin Stanton, Darran Sterling, Keith Stevens, Paul Sutton, Stuart Tabberer, Anthony Tagg, Lee Taylor, Susannah Taylor, Pete Thom, Paul Todd, Steve Tonkinson, Chris Treacy, Richard Vernon, Tim Vickers, Harald von Sydow, Ian Wainwright, Derek Welsh, Sean Welsh, Richard Whitby, Rose Wilford, Alan Wilson, Mark Wilson, Dean Wright, Lee Wood, Liam Wooton, Brian Yates, Adam Yendell, Charles Young, Stuart Young.

If your name is not on the above list and you believe that I should have received your renewal by that time, please contact me. I acknowledge all renewals when received. This list will not be published in future weeks but all renewals will be acknowledged.

A reminder has been sent to all active officials who have yet to renew or contact me. Those who have not renewed will be removed from membership in early November.

Paul Sutton

General Secretary









New this week – none

Previous weeks – none to be served this season





New this week - none

Outstanding items from previous weeks – none


This issue of Newsflash was edited by Alan Dobson. Dean will return next week. Probably.


New this week

No new play this week

Last week

Play: A's ball, 4th and 4, on A's 45. A's punt rolls to B's 10 where A21 tries to recover, but muffs the ball and it rolls to

B's 12. B19 picks up the ball on B's 12 and runs to B's 40 where he fumbles. A20 recovers the ball on B's 35 and runs for

a touchdown. During B19's run, B35 held A23 on B's 30.



New this week

No new play this week

Last week

Play: 1st and goal at the B2, team A run a quarterback sneak. The umpire sees the ball-carrier clearly break

the plane of the goal line before falling down, however both wing officials' views are obscured by other players.

How should the umpire communicate that a touchdown has been scored?




Contact for details


October 26th (Sun)

NFL @ Wembley (Detroit v Atlanta)

November 1st (Sat)

Xplosion 2014 – Birmingham v Hertfordshire

November 9th (Sun)

NFL @ Wembley (Dallas v Jacksonville)

November 15th (Sat)

BAFRA Board Meeting

March 28th & 29th

BAFRA Annual Convention

BAFRA Directors


David Parsons

General Secretary

Paul Sutton


Andrew Lovell


Richard Vernon


James Meredith


Pete Thom

Director without Portfolio #1

Martin Cockerill

Director without Portfolio #2

Steve Tonkinson

The opinions expressed in this Newsflash are those of the contributors, and not necessarily of BAFRA or its Directors.

All Incident Reports to be submitted via

Deadline for articles submitted by email ( is midnight Tuesday.

Editor: Dean Wright - Email: