BAFRA Rules Exam Questions 2003

Answer the questions as True or False. Unless otherwise stated, everything is normal.
See the Rubric for a full set of assumptions/instructions.

  1. The duration of a game is defined to be the time from the opening kick-off to the final whistle including the half-time interval and time for any stoppages or suspensions.
  2. If there are offsetting penalties, the Referee shall signal the fouls in the order they occurred and then give the offsetting penalty signal (Signal 10).
  3. A passer is any player who throws a forward pass. He is a passer from the time he releases the ball until it is complete, incomplete, intercepted or he moves to participate in the play.
  4. Officials should not use the “Ball Dead” signal (Signal 7) to indicate the end of a play.
  5. On a passing play, if the back judge moves immediately after the snap, his/her first step should be backwards.
  6. Regardless of the position of the goal posts, the size of the end zone or the distance between goal lines, the snap on a try play shall be made from any point on or between the inbounds lines on or behind Team B’s 3-yard line unless relocated by penalty.
  7. Any official may require any improvement in the field necessary for proper and safe game administration.
  8. If the Referee deems conditions warrant it, teams must provide towels for the Umpire and ball persons to use to keep the ball dry. The Referee should report teams who do not meet this requirement.
  9. Numbers worn on any part of a player’s uniform must always correspond with the mandatory front and back jersey numbers.
  10. Any question as to the legality of a player’s equipment shall be decided by the Umpire.
  11. On crews of five or more officials, the back judge is responsible for the game clock.
  12. Player safety is the number one concern of an official.
  13. An Umpire should only blow his/her whistle to signal the end of a running play if the runner’s forward progress ends directly in front of him/her and it is likely that the runner’s progress is obscured from the wing officials.
  14. Playing time shall be kept with a game clock that may be either a stopwatch operated by an official or a game clock operated by an assistant under the direction of the appropriate judge. The type of game clock shall be determined by the Referee.
  15. Team B always retains the ball after penalty enforcement from the post scrimmage kick spot.
  16. Not less than five minutes before the end of the half-time interval, the Referee and Umpire should visit each team in the place where they have spent the interval and establish the options for the second half.
  17. The snapper is the player who snaps the ball. He becomes the snapper from the moment the ball is snapped.
  18. If fewer than three officials are available to commence a game, suitably qualified persons attending the game as spectators or in another capacity may be appointed officials at the sole discretion of the Referee (or senior official present who shall act as Referee in the appointed Referee’s absence).
  19. The correct signal following a safety is Signal 6. There are no circumstances following a safety when the timeout signal (Signal 3) should also be given.
  20. Only the Referee is permitted to toss the coin at the coin toss preceding the opening kick off.
  21. Clipping should only be called if the official sees the blocker’s last two strides before the contact and the opponent he hit before the block.
  22. The sole ambulance leaves the game to transport to hospital a spectator who has had a heart attack. All other minimum medical requirements are met. Ruling: The game must be suspended until the ambulance returns.
  23. Officials’ assistants must be aged 13 or over.
  24. On a four-man crew, it is the Umpires responsibility to check that any stadium and/or 25-second clocks have started correctly after each down.
  25. During the 25-second count, an official notices that B93 is not wearing a mouthpiece. Team B have no timeouts remaining. Ruling: A 5-yard penalty will be assessed against Team B.
  26. On a six-man crew, if a running play goes to the field judge’s side of the field, the side judge should move infield and observe the action behind the runner and Umpire.
  27. The timing of the half-time intermission, commences from when the Referee leaves the field of play.
  28. A holder is a player who controls the ball on the ground or on a kicking tee. During a scrimmage play, a holder remains the holder until no player is in a position to make the kick or, if the ball is kicked, until he has had reasonable time to stand up and regain his balance.
  29. A kicking tee, if permitted by league regulation, may not elevate the ball’s lowest point more than two inches above the ground.It is 2nd down and 6 on team A’s 24 yard line. Quarterback A12 takes the snap at the 22-yard line, scrambles, and immediately prior to being tackled, throws a long low pass backward from A’s 22 yard line towards the sideline where no legal team A player has the opportunity to catch it. Defensive end B34 attempting an interception inadvertently bats the ball in flight where it is caught by full back A24 who runs with the ball. At A’s 27yd line B76 strips thr ball in A24 possession causing a fumble which AB76 recovers. B76 runs 2 yds and fumbles. The ball is recovered by QB A12 on the 20yd line who throws a complete forward pass to A2 standing on 50yd line.
  30. Despite the fact that A12’s first pass was caught, A12 is guilty of intentional grounding.
  31. Had A12 thrown the first pass out of bounds to conserve time then it would have constituted an illegal backward pass, and if this were the only foul on the down, it would be 3rd &13 at A’s 17 yd line
  32. B76’s batting of the ball in A24’s possession forward constitutes an illegal bat. Penalise 15 yards from the spot of the foul. If this were the only foul on the play, then it would be A’s ball, 1st and 10 from the 42-yard line.
  33. A12’s second pass is illegal. If this were the only foul on the play, then it would be A’s ball 1st & 10 from the 15 yd lineTeam A is attempting a 2-point try after scoring a touchdown. Quarterback A3 takes the snap from a shotgun position on the 8 yard-line, and after faking a handoff to fullback A24, throws a perfect spiral pass to wide receiver A97 who is at the 4-yard line. Cornerback B67, making no attempt to get the ball, pushes A97 in the chest causing him to miss the catch. The ball strikes A24’s helmet and bounces high into the air where it is caught by defensive lineman B66 who runs the length of the field and into the team A end zone.
  34. This is a legal play. Team B scores 2 points.
  35. Team A’s ball, half distance to the goal line, repeat the try attempt.
  36. During B66’s run, a team B player clips A3. Ruling: The try is over. The penalty will be assessed on the kick off.Team A is attempting a 2-point try after scoring a touchdown. Quarterback A1 muffs the snap and the ball rolls loose. Wide receiver A92 runs down the left sideline when he slips on a muddy part of the field and slides prone with his feet and legs lying in the end zone (with his right foot out of bounds) and his arms and torso lying inbounds. A1 recovers his own muff and throws the ball low towards the left sideline. A92 attempts to catch the ball but it bounces off of his hands and into the air. Fullback A47 leaps fully over A92 grabs the ball in mid-air and carries it into the end zone. After he has entered the end zone, frustrated safety B55 jumps on the prone A92 and is flagged for a late hit.
  37. A47 is guilty of hurdling, which is a 15yd personal foul. March 15yds towards team A’s goal (to the 18 yd line), then half distance to the team B goal for the late hit, Repeat the try from the 9 yd line
  38. The try is not good and shall not be repeated
  39. Team B may elect to take the subsequent kick off from their own 20yd line2nd & 10, team B’s 20-yd line. Near the right sideline, A92 runs downfield and towards the cornerback and at team B’s 16-yard line is directly in front of cornerback B58. B58 pushes A92 in the chest causing A92’s momentum to be interrupted. A92 responds by pushing B58 to one side and then he leaps up and receives a pass, airborne, at the 10-yd line. He is contacted in the air by B4 and returns to the ground at the 14-yd line where both feet and subsequently the football (firmly in his right hand) touch the ground. A92 continues to run down the field along the right sideline with the ball held in his outstretched right hand first crossing the plane of the sideline at the 10-yd line. A92 continues along the field until, at the 2-yd line, he dives towards the nearby sideline to avoid a tackle by B23. The ball, in his airborne hands crosses the plane of the extended goal line out of bounds, and he comes to ground out of bounds to the right of the end zone, A92 is hit late out of bounds by B23. During the play a voice is heard from B’s team area saying “What B*****d threw that flag”. It is impossible to determine who shouted this.
  40. A92 committed Offensive Pass Interference at the 16 yd line
  41. A92’s forward progress stopped at the 14-yard line.
  42. If the ball was live at the time that A92 leapt at the 2-yard line, then it would have been a touchdown.
  43. Reporting unsportsmanlike conduct requires that you report the number of the player committing the foul. It is, therefore, impossible to call such a penalty on an unidentifiable Team B player. The coach and captain should be instructed to keep their players in line but no foul may be called.
  44. The ball will next be put into play at Team B’s 10-yard line.It is 4th down and 20 at A’s 5 yd line. Quarter back A17 lines up in shotgun formation standing on the goal line. Prior to the snap, the entire offensive line shifts one player to the right and holds the new position for one second. Then the left guard, who is now in front of the football, snaps the ball suddenly to the quarterback who muffs the reception and the ball falls loose into the end zone. The ball is picked up by full back A34 who hands the ball forward to A17 who is now standing in the end zone. A17 immediately throws the ball downfield. The ball hits hands of A74 an offensive lineman, and pops up in the air, when it is caught on the 4 yard line by A68, the right tackle who lumbers up the sideline to the 9-yd line before being tackled. The tackler B71 then verbally taunts A68
  45. Assuming there is no false start, there was a legal shift and snap.
  46. Safety. Award two points to team B.
  47. Assuming that all penalties are accepted, the ball will next be put into play at Team A’s 17½ yard line.
  48. Assuming that all penalties are accepted, the next play will be A’s ball 1st down and 10
  49. Had the ball bounced off the hands of a defensive lineman, rather than an offensive lineman prior to being caught by A68, then it would be B’s ball, 1st and 10 from the 24-yard line.4-man crew, Team A have a 4th and 8 at their own 43-yard line. A 10’s kick is blocked near the line of scrimmage and the ball bounces back into Team A’s backfield, with A26 and B36 leading the charge for the ball and B35 close behind.
  50. In an attempt to remove A26 from the play, B35 blocks him in the back at the A 20-yard line. B26 then picks up the still rolling ball and runs it into A’s End Zone. Ruling: Following the penalty it will be B’s ball, 1st and 10 from the A30-yard line.
  51. This question was void
  52. A26 picks up the still rolling ball at the A 20-yard line. If he believes that the ball had crossed the neutral zone the Referee should blow his whistle immediately and stop the play.
  53. If the ball had indeed crossed the neutral zone before it was touched by a Team B player in the scenario in question 52 above, then it would be A’s ball 1st and 10 from their own 20-yard line.
  54. If the ball had not crossed the neutral zone and A26 recovers the ball at Team A’s 20 yard line and advances it to Team A’s 25 yard line, the play becomes dead at the point of recovery and the next play will be 1st down for Team B at the A 20-yard line.
  55. If he has the opportunity, the Line Judge should brief the deepest receiver on the fair catch provisions.
  56. The clock will always stop when a scrimmage kick play ends.4th & 3 A’s 27yard line A1 passes the ball backwards from A’s 24 yard line towards A2. It bounces off A’s 2 chest but is recovered by A3 who advances for a long touch down. After the play, the Umpire notices that A3 is not wearing knee pads.
  57. Ruling: Touchdown. Award 6 points to Team A.
  58. A3 has committed a violation. He shall not be permitted to take further part in the game until he complies in all respects with the wearing of mandatory equipment. Team A will be charged with a timeout, of if they have none remaining, a five-yard penalty will be assessed against Team A from the succeeding spot.Following a score late in the 4th Quarter which brings Team A to one point behind Team B, Team A kick off from their own 35 yd line with the ball going high and short. The ball breaks the plane of Team B’s restraining line and while the ball is still in the air it is touched by A1 whose feet are on the A 44-yard line. The ball then rolls out of bounds at the A 49-yard line. B26 was standing on the A 45-yard line within two yards of A1 waiting to catch the ball, but with one foot on the sideline.
  59. The Referee should have instructed the crew to take up on-side kick positions before the kick.
  60. A1’s touching is illegal – this is a violation and not a foul and so should be bean-bagged but not flagged.
  61. A free kick out of bounds between the goal lines untouched inbounds by a player of Team B is legal if it touches the ground in the field of play first.
  62. Because A1 was within 2 yards of B26, then Kick Catch Interference applies.
  63. If B26 had caught the ball and A1 had not been within 2 yards, the play would have been legal.On the opening Kick Off…
  64. The kicking team’s restraining line shall always be 15 yards from the midfield line, regardless of the length of the field of play.
  65. The Umpire should blow his whistle if the ball falls off the tee before it is kicked.
  66. All players of Team B must have been between the nine-yard marks after the ready for play signal.
  67. The clock will start when the ball is kicked.
  68. There is no requirement for Team B to have 5 players within 5 yards of their restraining line when the ball is kicked.Following a Touchdown and a dead-ball penalty, Team A line up on the B 18-yard line for a try attempt. They have only 4 linemen with numbers in the range 50-79 as the centre has been replaced by A23.
  69. This is always a legal formation for a try attempt
  70. Team A attempt a 1pt conversion. The kicked ball hits the upright of the goal-posts and falls into the End Zone where B26 muffs the catch and A27 catches the ball. Ruling: Score 2 points for Team A.
  71. During the unsuccessful kick, B26 clips A23 at the goal-line. Team B is penalised and the try repeated.
  72. The kick is partially blocked at the line of scrimmage by B69 and the ball rolls into B’s End Zone where A26 recovers. Ruling: Score 2 points for Team A.
  73. The kick is partially blocked at the line of scrimmage by B69 and is caught in the End Zone by B26 who runs it out of the End Zone and into the field of play. A23 and pulls him back into the End Zone where the tackle is completed. Ruling: Safety – Score 1 point to Team A.
  74. The Game clock will start on the snap.
  75. Before the ready for play, Team A’s captain requests that the ball be placed on the left hash of the B 19-yard line because the ground is muddy. This will be granted.Team A have a 4th down at their own 5-yard line. Kicker, A11, is standing in the End Zone very close to the end line.
  76. If A11 steps on the end line before the ball is snapped, this is an illegal substitution and causes the play to become dead.
  77. The kick is blocked by Team B at the A 15-yard line and the ball rebounds back and out of bounds through Team A’s End Zone in to the field of play . Even though the ball had crossed the line of scrimmage before being blocked this is a Safety.
  78. The snap is bad, but All is able to gather the ball, and he runs the ball out of the End Zone in to the field of play. He realises that he is not going to make a first down and kicks the ball on the run. In a genuine attempt to tackle A11 before he kicks, B26 knocks A11 off his feet just after the ball has gone. Whilst the tackle is neither late nor vicious, it is still roughing the kicker.
  79. On a 4-man crew, the Line Judge should take up an initial position slightly behind and slightly to the side of the deepest receiver.The Crew is 5-man, and Team A have a 4th and 1 at Team B’s 19-yard line, and Team A line up for a Field Goal attempt with the holder positioning himself at the B 26-yard line.
  80. Whilst it is permissible for only the Back Judge to go behind the posts on long field goal attempts, it does not apply here.
  81. The Line Judge alone should blow the whistle when the result of the kick is obvious and the ball is declared dead.
  82. If the kick is unsuccessful, the ball will next be put into play at the B26-yard line – the spot of the kick.
  83. If a run or a pass develops the Line Judge’s first move should be towards the corner pylon to be in a position to rule on the sideline.4th down and 6 on team A’s 20 yd line. A1 runs to A’s 24 yard line where he is hit and fumbles the ball. The ball rolls out of bounds at team A’s 27yd line.
  84. The ball belongs to Team A at A’s 24 yd line
  85. The ball will be put into play by team B at A’s 27yd line
  86. The clock will start on the snapIt is 3rd down and 10 from team A’s 27-yard line. Quarterback A3 receives a long snap on the 23 yard line and immediately pitches the ball to slot back A32 positioned wide on the 20-yard line. After the ball has clearly left the quarterback’s hands, defensive end B55 projects his knee while charging into and knocking down the quarterback. A3 gets up off the ground and runs downfield to A’s 40-yard line where, on his knees, he catches a pass that A32 threw from A’s 26-yard line. Lineman A59 had run 10 yards downfield at the time of the pitchout, had not made contact with any opponent, and had returned behind the neutral zone prior to A32’s forward pass.
  87. B55 has roughed the passer, if this was the only foul, you should penalise 15yds from the end of the run that started and finished where the pass was caught, It should be A’s ball 1st -10 from B’s 45 yd line
  88. A3 is not an eligible receiver so his catch represents both an ineligible receiver downfield and illegal touching. Penalise five yards from the previous spot.
  89. A59 was ineligibly downfield. Penalise five yards from the previous spot
  90. If all penalties are accepted, it will be Team A’s ball, 1st and 10 from their own 27 yard lineOn a short, high, free kick, A81 runs within 2 yards of but does not touch B26 who was waiting to catch the ball. B26 misses the ball completely, and A26 attempts to pick up the ball at the B 32-yard line but only succeeds in knocking it out of bounds at the B 30-yard line.
  91. Team B may elect to accept the interference penalty and take the ball after administration of the penalty.
  92. Team B may decline the interference penalty and elect to have the ball re-kicked after a 5-yard penalty.
  93. Unless the contact is severe enough to be called a personal foul, the penalty for kick catch interference with contact is now 10 yards.
  94. A26’s touching is a violation and Team B could elect to take the ball at this spot.
  95. If A26, whilst trying to pick up the ball, had batted it into a Team B player then this touching by the Team B player would be disregarded.It is 3rd and 17 from Team A’s 27-yard line. All takes the snap in shotgun formation standing at his own 20-yard line and without moving pitches the ball to A36 who is on Team A’s 23-yard line. A36 advances two yards with the ball then passes it to A86 who catches it at Team A’s 40 yard line where his forward progress is stopped in bounds.
  96. The pass by A36 is illegal. If the penalty is accepted, it will be 3rd and 24.
  97. On a passing play, all fouls committed behind the neutral zone that do not result in a safety are enforced from the previous spot.
  98. If A36 had received the ball at his own 20-yard line, there would have been no foul on the above play.
  99. If a defensive back had interfered with A86 as the latter was attempting to catch the ball the penalties would offset and the down be replayed.
  100. The clock will start on the ready for play.