BAFRA Rules Exam Questions 2004

Each scenario has four questions – two of which are True and two are False. Unless otherwise stated, everything is normal.
See the Rubric for a full set of assumptions/instructions.

1ABCD

4th down and 3 at A’s 31-yard line. Team A chooses to kick the ball away on fourth down. Punter A15 gets a bad snap and recovers the ball on A’s 25-yard line. He then scrambles until he reaches Team A’s 40-yard line where he kicks the ball and it is caught by B53 at his own 15-yard line. B53 advances 10 yards before he is tackled.
The kick by A15 was illegal. If B accepts the penalty A is penalised 5 yards from the point of the kick, which is still enough for a Team A first down. Therefore, if Team B wants the ball, they should decline the penalty.
Following the acceptance of any penalties, the Ball will next be put into play at Team A’s 26-yard line.
Team B can choose to make team A retake the kick after enforcement of any penalty.
If B67 had been offside at the snap, then the down would be replayed.

2ABCD

4th down and 5 from the 50-yard line. Receiver B12 is running backward to catch a scrimmage kick, which he does on his 2-yard line. His momentum carries him backwards into his own end zone, where he is downed. During the play, B83 commits a personal foul for unnecessary roughness.
If B12 had waited until he had caught the ball before giving a fair catch signal, then this would have been an illegal fair catch signal
If B83’s personal foul occurred in team B’s end zone during B12’s run, then it is a safety. Team A scores 2-points.
If B83’s personal foul occurred on the 20-yard line while the ball was in the air, then A gets the ball 1st down and 10 from B’s 35-yard line.
If B83 taunted the opposition after the play ended, then both the penalties for the unnecessary roughness and the unsportsmanlike conduct would be enforced.

3ABCD

3rd and goal from Team B’s 9-yard line. The snap goes over the head of A11 who recovers the ball at Team B’s 20-yard line from where he throws a forward pass that is intercepted in the end zone by B40. B40 attempts to advance the ball but does not succeed in getting out of the end zone before he is downed by A93. During B40’s run B57 clips A84 in the end zone.
The forward pass by A11 was legal.
The penalty for the clip gives Team A an automatic first down.
The result of the play is a touchback. Team B will next put the ball in to play at their own 10-yard line after enforcement of a half distance penalty.
Award a safety to Team A.

4ABCD

3rd and 9 at Team B’s 44-yard line. A11 throws a forward pass that hits the Umpire, rebounds and is caught by A69 who advances to B’s 39-yard line where his forward progress is stopped inbounds. B73 was offside at the snap.
The only foul on the above play is the offside by Team B. Penalise Team B five yards from the end of the run, this, added to the five yards gained on the play will result in a first down to Team A.
The touching by A69 is illegal. This will offset the foul by B73. Replay the down.
Had the ball rebounded to A11, he could legally have advanced the ball.
The Umpire should move quickly towards the line of scrimmage when he/she reads a forward pass play.

5ABCD

3rd and 7 from Team B’s 11-yard line. A pass by A11, and untouched by any other player, is caught in the Team B end zone by A80, an originally eligible receiver. Prior to making the catch A80, (with no Team B player near him), stepped on the end line and immediately came back into the end zone.
The catch by A80 is illegal as going out of bounds made him an ineligible receiver. The ball will next be put into play 4th and 12 from Team B’s 16-yard line.
Had the ball been tipped by A84 (an eligible receiver), A80 would have been legally permitted to catch the ball.
The covering official should mark with a bean bag the spot where A80 went out of bounds.
Whilst the penalty for the above scenario carries a loss of down, had the ball been caught by an originally ineligible player, the penalty would not have involved a loss of down

6ABCD

Fifty seconds remain in the game and Team B lead by 1 point. Team A have the ball 1st and 10 on their own 49-yard line. A11 throws a forward pass to A80 who catches it inbounds at Team B’s 44-yard line. Seeing that he is about to be tackled inbounds, he throws the ball backwards and out of bounds at B’s 46-yard line. There was no other Team A player in the vicinity of the throw.
A80 is legally allowed to throw a backward pass.
Throwing the ball backwards and out of bounds to conserve time is a foul that carries loss of down. The ball will next be put in play at Team A’s 49-yard line, 2nd and 10 for Team A.
The clock will start on the snap.
Had a Team B player been offside at the snap, the fouls would have offset and the down would be replayed.

7ABCD

In which of the following circumstances will the ball next be placed on Team B’s 3-yard line…
the ball is snapped at Team B’s 8-yard line but a Team B player was off-side. The penalty is accepted.
the ball is snapped at Team B’s 1-yard line but A are guilty of illegal motion and B commit roughing the passer. The pass was incomplete.
Team A score a Touchdown.
the ball is snapped at Team B’s 8-yard line and B is guilty of pass interference at Team B’s 3-yard line – the penalty is accepted.

8ABCD

1st and 10 from Team A’s 30-yard line. A11 throws a pass that is caught by A83 at Team A’s 36-yard line where he steps out of bounds. B71 was offside at the snap.
If Team A accept the penalty, the ball will next be put into play 1st and 5 from their own 35-yard line. As the clock was stopped to complete the penalty, it will start on the ready for play.
If there is a five man crew in the above situation, the Backjudge should cover the area around the A83 for extra-curricular activity.
If the penalty is accepted, the linesman shall hold the enforcement spot until the penalty is completed.
A penalty is completed when it is accepted, declined or cancelled according to rule or when the choice is obvious to the Referee.

9ABCD

3rd and 10 from Team A’s 20-yard line. A81 catches A11’s pass at A’s 44-yard line and advances with the ball to B’s 49-yard line where his forward progress is stopped inbounds. Immediately after the snap A69 contacts B76 at the line of scrimmage and pushes him back to A’s 22-yard line where contact is broken. A69 then remains stationary until the pass is thrown.
A69 is ineligibly downfield. Penalise Team A 5 yards from the previous spot.
The Linesman and Linejudge have prime responsibility for ruling on ineligible players downfield.
By rule, the pass was completed at Team A’s 44-yard line.
Pushing is blocking an opponent with open hands.

10ABCD

Following a touchdown Team A attempt a two point conversion. A11 throws a forward pass that is intercepted in the end zone by B22 who advances to B’s 2-yard line. Seeing that he is about to be tackled, B22 passes the ball backwards to B47 who is in Team B’s end zone. B47 muffs the ball and is goes out of the back of the end zone.
Had B22 returned the ball to Team A’s endzone, this would have resulted in Team B scoring 2 points.
The result of the scenario above is a safety. Score 2 points to Team A.
Had offsetting fouls occurred after the interception by B22, the try would be replayed.
The muff by B47 does not give fresh impetus to the ball.

11ABCD

Which of the following are correct use of Officials’ signals:
Signal 7 should be used by the covering official to indicate the end of a play.
Signal 3 should be echoed by the other officials.
Signal 40 should be used when a Team A player blocks before becoming eligible to touch a free-kicked ball.
The signals for intentionally contacting a game official physically are Signal 7, 27 and 47.

12ABCD

An official shall always blow the whistle immediately when…
the ball-carrier’s helmet breaks the plane of the goal-line.
two Team A players are in motion at the snap.
team A’s legal punt crosses the neutral zone and B26 gives a fair catch signal, but B22 who could not have seen the signal catches the ball.
the QB’s pass which does not cross the neutral zone is muffed and hits the ground and the official is unsure whether it went forward.

13ABCD

The Linejudge shall…
on a 5-man crew, line up 7 yards downfield on a punt play and take responsibility for all shallow receivers.
along with the other officials, record all timeouts, including the quarter and time remaining on the clock.
on a 4-man crew, be responsible for the entire sideline on his/her side of the field.
when a penalty is being enforced, move directly to the spot to which the ball should be taken following the enforcement.

14ABCD

A8, a Kicker, drops the ball and then kicks it before it strikes the ground. In which of the following circumstances could this be legal?
On the opening kick-off
On any scrimmage kick
On a free kick following a successful field goal
On a free kick following a safety

15ABCD

In which of the following circumstances does the clock stop, and then be restarted on the snap of the next play?
From the opening kick-off, Team A’s free-kick lands at Team B’s 20-yard line and bounces untouched into the endzone. B26 recovers the ball before it bounces again, but is unable to get out of the endzone before he is downed.
It is 3rd and goal from Team B’s 8-yard line. A36 runs with the ball but fumbles at the Team B’s 5-yard line and the ball goes out of bounds at the Team B’s 3-yard line.
Team A punt the ball from its own 20-yard line. B26 touches the ball at Team B’s 40-yard line and A36 recovers at Team B’s 45-yard line.
It is 4th down with 4 yards to gain. Team A run the ball but only gain 3 yards, however, B36 was off-side at the snap.

16ABCD

4th down and 19 at A’s 48-yard line. A15 punts the ball downfield. The ball strikes the ground untouched at B’s 20-yard line, and rolls towards B’s end-zone. A84 attempts to recover the ball at B’s 3-yard but fails to do so (although A84 does make contact with the ball), and the ball rolls gently into B’s end zone where B79 picks the ball up and runs the length of the field before downing the ball in team A’s end zone. During B79’s long run, A34 commits a personal foul well away from the ball.
B79 has scored a touchdown. The penalty for the personal foul will be enforced on the try.
B79 has scored a touchdown. The penalty for the personal foul will be enforced on the subsequent kick-off.
A84’s attempted recovery constitutes an illegal touch. Team B could elect to take the ball at the 3-yard line (the spot of the violation).
Team B may elect to next put the ball into play on their 35-yard line.

17ABCD

In a youth-kitted game it is 1st and 25 from Team B’s 35 yard line following a face mask penalty by A36 on the previous play. A36 takes the hand off and runs untouched into Team B’s end zone following which he taunts the Team B players around him by baiting and insulting them verbally. B70 was offside at the snap.
The result of the play is a touchdown. Enforce the penalties for the offside by Team B and the taunting by Team A on the try.
Unsportsmanlike conduct fouls after a touchdown but before the ready for play on the try may only be enforced on the try; there is no option to enforce them on the succeeding kick off.
Because this is a youth-kitted game and as this is the second 15-yard penalty incurred by A36 in the game, he must be automatically disqualified.
Even if the penalty for taunting is declined, A36 may still be disqualified.

18ABCD

4th down and 17 on team A’s 32-yard line. Punter A15, standing on A’s 25-yard line, punts the ball downfield where it flies in the air to team B’s 40-yard line. While in the air, untouched by any player, the ball is caught by a gust of wind and blown back across the neutral zone where it is caught in the air by A15 on the 30-yard line. A15 immediately punts the ball again and this time it goes out of bounds untouched by any player, at B’s 30-yard line.
After enforcement of any penalties, the ball will next be put into play on B’s 30-yard line.
A15’s second kick is a return kick, penalise 5 yards from the spot of the foul, which in this case is the 30-yard line.
If B78 was offside at the snap, there would be offsetting live ball penalties, and the down would be replayed.
A15’s first kick is not considered to have crossed the neutral zone.

19ABCD

The Referee shall…
carry the ball from the dead-ball spot to the in-bounds markers before doing a measurement.
be the only official to call a timeout for a coach’s conference.
prior to the coin toss, go to the press box sideline and escort the captains from the team from that side for the coin toss.
have responsibility for acts on and by the kicker on all kick plays.

20ABCD

3rd and 13 from Team A’s 6-yard line. A11 receives the snap, drops back to pass and is on his own 1-yard line when he sees he is about to be sacked by B71. To avoid the sack, he throws the ball forward to where no eligible Team A player has a reasonable opportunity to catch it. Before the pass is thrown, A69 holds B75 one yard deep in Team A’s end zone.
The forward pass by A11 is illegal. As this is a spot foul, if the penalty for this is accepted, the ball will next be put into play 3rd and 18 from Team A’s 1-yard line.
If the penalty for the holding is accepted, this will result in a safety being awarded to Team B.
A team conceding a safety may opt to put the ball into play from their own 15-yard line by a drop kick.
On a passing play, holding is always enforced from the spot of the foul if it occurs behind the neutral zone.

21ABCD

While Team A is legally set, A11 is called over to the sideline by the Coach. As A11 goes towards the sideline the ball is snapped and thrown. A11 turns up-field, catches the ball and runs for a touchdown. As A11 enters the end zone A36 taunts Team B.
The foul by A11 is unsportsmanlike conduct and will result in a 15-yard penalty from the succeeding spot.
The foul by A36 is unsportsmanlike conduct and will result in a 15-yard penalty from the succeeding spot.
The foul by A11 is a dead ball foul.
Team B may accept both penalties.

22ABCD

The following acts are illegal and always carry a 15-yard penalty (subject to half-distance requirements).
Team A, with 12 players in the huddle, breaks the huddle and two players start towards Team A’s bench.
Team B make “hut” sounds as Team A’s QB is calling his cadence.
B26 gives a fair catch signal, but then deliberately advances the ball.
Offensive pass interference.

23ABCD

1st and 10 from Team A’s 6-yard line. A11 hands the ball off to A36 in the backfield. In an unsuccessful attempt to prevent B59 tackling A36, guard A70 holds B59 at Team A’s 2-yard line. B59 tackles A36 and halts his forward progress at Team A’s 4-yard line
If the penalty is accepted, it will be 1st and 15 from Team A’s 1-yard line.
If A70 had held B59 in Team A’s end zone and the penalty is accepted, Team B will be awarded a safety.
If Team B decline the penalty, it will be 2nd and 12 from Team A’s 4-yard line.
All holding penalties are enforced from the succeeding spot.

24ABCD

Team A kicks off from their 35-yard line, but the kicker kicks high and short. Receiver B74, standing near the edge of the field on the A’s 49-yard line with one foot on the sideline, goes to catch the ball and is about to grab the ball when A89 makes contact with him. B74 does not move, but the ball strikes him in the chest and falls in the field of play on the 50-yard line where A20 recovers it.
A89 committed a kick catch interference penalty.
This constitutes a free kick out of bounds. Team B can elect to take the ball at their 35-yard line, or force A to retake the kick with a 5-yard penalty
A20 committed an illegal touching violation, which gives team B the right to take the ball at the spot of the illegal touching. Team B’s ball. 1st and 10 at the 50-yard line.
If a team B player had been standing on the A 42-yard line at the time of the kick, then there would be offsetting penalties, and the kick would be retaken.

25ABCD

In a youth kitted game it is 1st and 10 from Team A’s 20-yard line. A11 throws a forward pass that is caught by A89 who advanced with the ball to A’s 37-yard line where his forward progress is halted as he is tripped by B26. After the snap but before the pass is thrown, A69 legally blocks B71 preventing him from sacking A11. Whilst the pass is in the air A69 then taunts B71 using terminology that is both obscene and racist.
The ball will next be put into play at Team A’s 37-yard line, 1st and 10 to Team A.
The tripping by B26 is illegal.
If B71 had retaliated to A69 before the end of the play with similar abusive taunting, both fouls would be administered as live ball fouls and therefore would offset.
If B71 had retaliated to A69 by punching him, the covering official would have no alternative but to disqualify A69. The covering official could also disqualify B71, but only if he considered the taunting to be flagrant.

26ABCD

4th down and 17 from team B’s 43-yard line. The punt goes downfield where, on the 22-yard line, it strikes B34 on the crown of the head and rebounds into the air.
B34 catches the ball in his own end zone and then fumbles the ball out of bounds in the end zone. Ruling: Safety.
B34 catches the ball at his 4-yard line and his momentum carries him into the end zone where he fumbles the ball out of bounds. Ruling: Safety
B34 catches the ball in his own end zone and then fumbles the ball out of bounds. While the ball is loose in the end zone, B27 clips A14 in the end zone. Ruling: Safety
B34 catches the ball at his own 8-yard line and his momentum carries him into the end zone. He then runs with the ball into the field of play. At Team B’s 10-yard line, A17 punches at the ball from B34’s possession which falls loose and then bounces out of the back of the end zone. Ruling: Touchback

27ABCD

In which of the following circumstances may the game not start…
There is an 18-inch-deep drainage ditch 8 feet from the endzone at one end of the field.
There are no goal posts.
One team has only 10 players.
BAFRA has assigned only 3 officials.

28ABCD

4th and 10 from Team B’s 20-yard line. A11 throws a pass that is caught by A34 at Team B’s 18-yard line. A34 advances to B’s 15-yard line where he fumbles the ball, which rolls forward and is picked up by A80 at B’s 11-yard line. A80 is has his forward progress halted inbounds at Team B’s 9-yard line.
At the end of the play, the ball belongs to Team A.
The ball will next be put into play, 1st and goal to Team A at Team B’s 9-yard line.
The covering official should mark the spot of A34’s fumble with a bean bag.
The clock will start on the ready for play.

29ABCD

Early in the third quarter, after an injury to A11 on the previous play, Team A send in A53 as their quarterback. He reports to the Referee as an eligible receiver. The forward pass thrown by A53 is caught by A86 in Team B’s endzone. A86 then makes an obscene gesture towards the Team B sideline.
Had A53 failed to report as an eligible receiver, this would have been illegal. The penalty for this is five yards from the previous spot.
The penalty for the foul by A86 can only be enforced on the try; there is no option to carry it over to the succeeding kick off.
If the covering official considers the foul by A86 flagrant, he may ask the Referee to disqualify the player. The final decision about the disqualification rests with the Referee.
After the try, Team A will always kick off.

30ABCD

It is a safety when…
Team A are guilty of holding in their own endzone no matter whether the run crosses the neutral zone.
A Team A player is contacted on his own 2-yard line and is pushed into the endzone and downed.
Team A advise that they are “taking a knee” and the QB kneels down with the ball over his goal-line.
Team A punt and it is blocked behind the line of scrimmage by a Team B player and rebounds into Team A’ endzone where it is picked up by a Team A player who runs it to Team A’s 1-yard line.

31ABCD

An attempted kicking conversion on a try passes over the crossbar between the uprights before a gust of wind catches the ball and blows it back into the field of play. On the way back into the field the wind directs the ball back below the crossbar where it falls into the end zone and a member of the kicking team recovers it.
This counts as a successful try and scores two points.
In youth kitted football, this counts as a successful try and scores two points.
This is illegal interference by something other than a person subject to the rules. Replay the down.
In determining the forward progress of the ball, the crossbar and uprights are treated as a line, not a plane.

32ABCD

4th and 4 from Team A’s 49-yard line. Team A line up in scrimmage kick formation. A44, who is positioned in the centre of the offensive line, snaps the ball to A15 who is standing at A’s 34-yard line. Of the seven players on Team A’s line of scrimmage at the snap, only four are wearing numbers between 50 and 79 inclusive. A15 throws a pass that is caught by A96 who has his forward progress stopped inbounds at Team B’s 40-yard line.
The Team A formation at the snap is illegal.
A44 was eligible to receive a forward pass.
The ball will next be put in play at Team B’s 40-yard line.
The clock will start on the ready for play.

33ABCD

It is early in the fourth quarter and Team A have the ball, 2nd and 8 from Team B’s 12-yard line. The previous play had been a two-yard run that finished inbounds. A11 throws a forward pass that is caught by A80 in the endzone. At the snap both A22 and A39 were in motion in Team A’s backfield. Neither was in motion towards Team B’s goal line.
The motion by A22 and A39 constitutes a false start. After penalty enforcement, the ball will next be put into play 2nd and 13 from Team B’s 17-yard line.
The touchdown is good. Penalise Team A 5 yards on the PAT.
The penalty for a false start is always measured from the succeeding spot.
The clock will start on the snap.

34ABCD

Team A kicks off from their 35-yard line. Prior to the kick several members of the kicking team start to run towards team B. The ball is first touched by one of these, striking A65 in the side of his head at his 40-yard line. The ball then bounces downfield where it is recovered at B’s 40-yard line by B32 who runs it back to the 50-yard line.
The ball striking the side of A65’s head constitutes an illegal touch.
Team B could elect to put the ball into play at team A’s 35-yard line, by accepting the 5-yard penalty from the spot of A65’s touch.
Had Team A players encroached and Team B were to accept this penalty, then they would not get the opportunity to accept any benefit for any illegal touch that may or may not have occurred.
If a Team B player clipped during B32’s runback, then Team B would not be able to accept any benefit for any illegal touch that may have occurred, rather Team A would re-kick the ball from their own 40-yard line after marching off 5 yards for the encroachment and then 15 yards for the clip.

35ABCD

1st and 10 on Team A’s 35-yard line. A11 throws a forward pass that is intercepted by B26 at B’s 40-yard line. B26 advances and steps out of bounds at B’s 43-yard line. Before the pass is thrown, A35, who was initially positioned three yards directly behind A11 at the snap, blocks B55 below the waist at A’s 31-yard line.
As there was a change of possession on the play, the block by A35 was illegal.
The penalty for an illegal block below the waist by a Team A player is 15 yards from the basic spot.
Team B will need to decline any penalty to keep the ball.
Team B’s 43-yard line may be correctly defined as any or all of: the “out-of-bounds spot”; the “spot where the run ends”; the “dead-ball spot”; the “succeeding spot”.

36ABCD

When Team A line up for a scrimmage play…
one player may be between his scrimmage line and the backs, even if he is not in a position to receive a hand-to-hand snap from between the snapper’s legs when the snap starts.
the snap must be made between the snapper’s legs.
it will always be a foul if there are more than 4 players in the backfield when the ball is snapped.
and there is only one serviceable set of goalposts; they will attack towards that set of goalposts.

37ABCD

Quarterback A11 takes a legal snap and pitches the ball to Running Back A36 who sweeps to the Head Linesman’s side of the field. A36 then turns up field and gains enough yards for a first down before his progress is stopped in the field of play and then he is bundled out of bounds.
The Head Linesman’s first movement should be towards the backfield along the sideline and then to trail A36 up field.
The clock should be stopped and then started on the snap
Any live ball foul by Team A other, than ‘assisting the runner’, BEHIND the end of the run will be a spot foul.
The clock has been stopped because Team A has gained a first down.

38ABCD

4th down and 7 at team A’s 28-yard line. Punter A15 punts the ball downfield to Team B’s 30-yard line, where it bounces and is recovered by B18 on his own 28-yard line. He advances it to B’s 42-yard line before he is tackled. While the ball is in the air, A40 is blocked in the back at his own 40-yard line. After the play ends, B23 swears at and pushes an official.
The ball will next be put into play on B’s 9-yard line.
The ball will next be put into play on B’s17-yard line.
B23 must be disqualified.
Team A can accept the penalties and gain a new series of downs.

39ABCD

4th down and 12 at team A’s 37-yard line. A15 attempts a punt which is blocked by B69 at A’s 39-yard line and bounces back into Team A’s backfield. The punter A15 attempts to recover the ball, but before he is able to do so, he is illegally blocked in the back by B33 at A’s 25-yard line.
B40 picks up the rolling ball at the 20-yard line and runs it into A’s end zone. Ruling: Following any penalty, it will be B’s ball 1st down and 10 from A’s 35-yard line.
A35 picks up the rolling ball at the 20-yard line and runs it back to the line of scrimmage before being tackled. Ruling: As Team B had touched the ball after it had crossed the neutral zone, Team A gets the ball and a new series of downs 1st down and 10.
A35 picks up the rolling ball at the 20-yard line and runs it the length of the field into Team B’s end zone. Ruling: Touchdown.
The ball will next be put into play by Team A.

40ABCD

4th down and 16 from team A’s 4-yard line. Team A attempts a scrimmage kick. The snap passes over A15’s head and falls into the end zone. Punter A15 is about to pick the ball up when B45 kicks the ball back into the field of play and out of bounds at the 2-yard line.
Had A15 kicked the ball rather than B45, then this would have been a safety.
B45 illegally kicked a loose ball in the end zone. Penalise 15 yards from the previous spot. Team A gets the ball, 1st and 10 from the 19.
Team B gets the ball 1st and 10 after a 15-yard penalty from the previous spot.
Had B45 kicked the ball out the side of the end zone, rather than out the side of the field of play, the official’s ruling would be unchanged.

41ABCD

Team A have a 1st and 10 on its own 31-yard line. Quarterback A11 after running 9 yards to the 40-yard line and then slides a further 5 yards on the ground with his feet forward to avoid an approaching defensive player who is about to tackle him. The end of the slide by A11 left the ball on Team A’s 44 yard line.
The ball is declared dead at the spot when any part of A11’s body, other than the hands or feet, first touches the ground.
The Linejudge shall at all times give the progress on where A11’s slide ended
First down shall be awarded and the Head Linesman shall move the chains
The game clock continues to run.

42ABCD

2nd and 2 from Team A’s 18-yard line. A11 receives the snap and after scrambling to avoid being tackled by B71, eventually throws a forward pass that falls incomplete at Team A’s 30-yard line. A11 was at his own 20-yard line when he threw the pass. A81 was in a position to catch the pass but was contacted B22 just prior to the ball arriving. B22 was making an attempt to catch the ball. The ball had not been touched by any other player.
There is a foul by each team on the play. These will offset, replay the down.
If a forward pass is tipped by an eligible receiver prior to contact by a Team B player, defensive pass interference is not possible.
The penalty for defensive pass interference includes an automatic first down.
The pass by A11 was illegal. As the penalty involves loss of down, the next play will be 3rd down from Team A’s 13-yard line.

43ABCD

4th down and 16 from team A’s 44-yard line. A15 punts high and deep and the ball is tipped by B77 attempting to catch it on B’s 22-yard line. The ball falls to the ground where it is recovered by A12 on the B 20-yard line. A12 runs to the B 10-yard line before he tackled by B91. After the tackle, B91 intentionally spits on A12.
A12’s recovery is legal
The spot for the enforcement of B91’s penalty is the spot where the related run ends, the B 10-yard line.
Had B63 held a kicking team player going for the ball after B77 had touched it, then the penalties would have offset.
Had B22 signalled for a fair catch, then neither Team A, nor Team B would have been allowed to advance the ball after it had been recovered.

44ABCD

4th down and 10 at B’s 45-yard line. Punter A15 punts the ball downfield. While the ball is in the air, B28 uses his lower leg to obstruct a member of the kicking team below the knees at team B’s 30-yard line. The ball first strikes the ground at B’s 1-yard line and bounces towards the end-zone. A45 punches the ball just before it goes out of the back of the end-zone and deflects the ball back into the field of play where it is recovered by team B at their 5-yard line.
A45’s strike is an illegal bat of a live ball in an end-zone. This results in a 15-yard penalty from the basic spot.
B28’s act constitutes illegal tripping
Team B may next put the ball in play from their 10-yard line.
Team A may accept the penalty and put the ball into play 1st and 10 at B’s 30-yard line.

45ABCD

The Linesman shall…
set up the chains on the sideline opposite the press box if there is room so to do.
on a 4-man crew, move into the offensive backfield when a punt is blocked to assist the Referee in covering the play.
never take up a basic scrimmage down position outside the sideline.
mark the mid-point of the chain as this will help to determine whether a defensive penalty gives a first down.

46ABCD

3rd and 1 at the B 3-yard line. Team A runs a sweep play to the right and the runner, A26, turns up-field just inside the sideline. He is tackled by B22 at the Team B 1-yard line by the legs, and falls forward with the ball held out in front of him.
A26 falls on prone B22 and no part of A26’s body touches the ground. After a very brief pause, A26 reaches out again and puts the ball down over the goal line. Ruling: No score as this was a double movement.
A26 fumbles the ball as he is tackled. The ball rolls into the end zone and comes to rest near but not touching the end line. All players assume that it has gone out of bounds and return to their huddles for the next play. Ruling: Touchdown as the ball still belongs to Team A.
A26 fumbles the ball and B22 catches the fumble in flight at his own 1-yard line with his momentum carrying him into the end zone where he is downed still in possession of the ball. Ruling: 1st & 10 for team B at their 1-yard line.
As A26 starts to fall forwards he makes contact with the covering official who is standing with his feet on the sideline at the 1-yard line. Ruling: The ball becomes dead at the moment of contact.

47ABCD

On any scrimmage play, Team B players…
may enter the field of play as a substitute from any part of his sideline.
may wear hand warmers during inclement weather.
may request a head coach’s conference with the Referee
may wear a jersey of a different colour to their offense as long as each Team B player on the field is wearing the same colour jersey.

48ABCD

4th and 4 from team B’s 14-yard line. Team A attempts a field goal. A15 kicks the ball from the 21-yard line. After the ball has clearly been kicked, but before kicker A15 has regained his balance, B55 who is charging towards A15, attempts to stop himself but runs into A15. The field goal is successful.
Team A may decline the three points and get 1st down and 10 from the 9-yard line.
The penalty must be declined by rule.
If the kick is unsuccessful, the ball would next be put into play at the previous spot, the 14-yard line.
After the contact by B55, A15 dives to the ground clutching his head. The Referee believes that A15 is simulating being roughed. This is an unsportsmanlike conduct foul and it will offset B55’s foul. Repeat the down.

49ABCD

On a free kick, receiver B12 shades his eyes from the sun. B12 then muffs the catch and B27 catches it on his 14-yard line. B27 returns the ball to Team B’s 29-yard line when he is downed. During B27’s run, B17 blocks A34 in the back on B’s 20-yard line.
B12’s shielding his eyes from the sun is an invalid fair catch signal. Therefore B27 may not advance the recovered kick.
The post scrimmage kick enforcement spot is the spot where the kick ends which is Team B’s 14-yard line. Therefore, after enforcement of B17’s penalty it will be 1st down and 10 from B’s 7-yard line.
The basic spot for the enforcement of any penalty associated with B17’s block is the spot where B27’s run ends, that is to say the B 29-yard line.
On the next play, the clock will start on the snap.

50ABCD

The Umpire shall…
observe the snap of the ball.
always blow the whistle if the runner’s progress ends directly in front of him/her.
continually verify that players’ equipment complies with the rules.
Give the Signal 12 if a forward pass first touches anything in or behind the neutral zone.